The Case for Not Being Alone

Image

Recently, there was a death in my wife’s family. It was long expected to happen at any moment, but when it hit, it hurt a lot of her family as well as mine. It was in that moment that we had to make a decision of whether both of us would miss work and go up to be with family and attend the funeral or just one of us. For financial reasons, we went with the latter.

 As my wife left to head up to Jefferson City, I stayed back to take care of the dogs, go to school, and work in the office. At first it was not a big deal, mainly because I thought she would be home by midweek. But as Wednesday arrived, she informed me that they would be out there until Friday. Now for most people, and for most men, this would feel like a dream come true.

 

A whole week without the wife, I could stay up late, play video games, eat whatever I want and have no repercussions.

 

The only issue with that sentiment is that I love my wife and I like having her around.

 

So as the days accumulated, I missed her even more. It made me come to a very interesting conclusion.

 

I never want to be without my wife.

 

I think back to the opening montage in Up, where the protagonist is without his wife and it just pains me. I never want to know that pain. I never want to be without her because she makes my life less dull, less boring, and more adventurous than I ever felt possible.

 

My point is that if you are lucky to be married or have a family, cherish them, hold on to them and never let them go. Because you never know when God will take them home to be with him. 

One thought on “The Case for Not Being Alone

Leave a comment