1 Semester Down & Why I Love What I Do

Ah, yes. The end of my first semester of teaching. Who would have thought that this weird, odd, windy road would have lead me to where I am today, thus far. Teaching is by far the best thing and, simultaneously, the hardest thing that I have ever done. I get the chance day in and day out to teach and talk to students about the most important things that are shaping our lives. I get to talk about history, God, English, and Comic Books. I get to walk the halls and have random and interesting conversations. I get to do very creative things to help shape the brains of these young minds.

The trouble is, you really do not know what you are truly doing with these minds, or better yet, these souls, until you get to the end of the road. That brings us to today. A student of mine walked into the room and gave me a note. On it, among the normal stuff of Merry Christmas and what not, was the statement, “I always thought that teachers like you were only on television, than I got to see that you are real.”

I’ll be honest, this brought a tear to my eye. Because, for those who truly know me and my journey, they know my love for George Feeny. They also know, that this year has been the craziest one in a while. But, with all of that said, the fact that I get to come and work with these kids, these teachers, and just be that little ear for them, makes all of the grading, all of the extra stuff, so much more worth it.

Have there been challenges this year? You bet there have. But at the end of the day, God is good and being a teacher for the rest of my days would be a great way to spend my days.

Leave a comment