Life, As It Seems, Is Beautiful

campfire

I gotta say, I love to have conversations. Some are at the dinner table, some are at a coffee shop or over a beer at 23rd Street Brewery, but conversations are the best. Some of my favorite conversations have happened over the past six months or so.

The first one was not really just one but a series of them. They were with my good friend Cam. You see, we do this odd thing where at the end of the week, specifically on a sunday evening during the semester, we go to a spot like 23rd Street, order a beer, and talk about our weeks and talk about life. We often get deep, but more than that we enjoy just talking. We talk about relationships, we talk about friendships, we talk about school, and we talk about the randomness and uniqueness of life. These talks often last until we reach the bottom of our pints and end in a hug of bro love.

The second type of conversations that I enjoy more than anything is that of dinner conversations. These often involve me and my wife, Amber, talking about our day, what we are learning in our classes or studies, random stories or things involving dogs and pigs, and finally ending up with us moving to the couch to watch television or play a video game. These talks are simple, but i love the simplicity of our love and our life.

My final type of conversation that I rather enjoy happened actually the night before the wedding. It was me, some good buds, and quite a few drinks, and we just told stories. Stories from our lives, from our friends lives, and just everything in between. This was beyond one of my best nights with friends that I have ever had.

It is true when they say that the best parts of life are when your telling stories. You see, your life is a story. We live out the story that God is writing, and when we get to the end, the twilight of our life, we spend time telling these stories. We tell them to each other, to doctors, to nurses, to anyone who will listen. And finally, one day, we will get to heaven, sit on a log with the creator across from a lake, and tell him our best stories. As we recline back and tell God our best stories, he will smile and tell us Life, as it seems, is beautiful.

The real question is, what kind of stories  will you tell our creator, a boring american dream kind, or one of excitement and fishing of men?

-Brett

Leave a comment